A reflection on Digital Differences

In my own blog post I read all the comments from our introductory topics and took them on board. Coming from population and geography I find the software hard to use, however this week managed to create my own video on Powtoon, as well as creating my own graph on Excel, participating in the MOOC and also adding an infra graphic from Piktochart.

Having read numerous other blogs from my classmates I now feel I have a much broader understanding of the topic. As well as this, having read Steph’s blog and seeing the video she posted, I learnt about China censoring the internet to their citizens. Upon further research I found out North Korea have a similar policy, however it is much stricter. Here, normal citizens do not actually have access to the internet, only a certain elite few.

Sam’s blog brought to my attention the benefits the internet can have in helping someone with dyslexia use the web. He discussed whether the internet should be a human right and having read Skepy’s work, argued how many factors of internet usage are not necessary for involvement in a political community, resultantly meaning it shouldn’t be considered a human right. Reading Cerf’s work, the point was made that, although improving the internet is a way to improve the human condition, it must be done with an appreciation for the civil and human rights that deserve protection, without pretending that access itself is such a right.

Coming back to digital differences, due to the many contributing factors I can see why it is a difficult issue to resolve. Not only do people from different financial backgrounds have differing levels of access, but also some people within society and some societies on the whole hold a different value upon internet access.

Word Count: 299

My comment on Steph’s blog (142 words).

My comment on Sam’s blog (139 words).

References:

1 thought on “A reflection on Digital Differences

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close